Ficool

Chapter 7 - Chapter 7: Gambling Parlor Blues

Hey, hope the world's been doing well while I was gone. It's time to discuss my new job. Standy Valentine at the Gambling Parlor as again, a cashier. Or a glorified bartender. We only serve beer and small wine bottles. We're barely a bar. And we gamble in the safest way possible. Virtual slot machines. I don't even lay down a card here for them. It's a shame to an extent, even if I've never learned how to do the bridge.

It's a nice enough vibe. So far I feel like a babysitter more than anything. All I'm supposed to do is ask if they want free drinks at least once. And otherwise just vibe. Hang out free drinks. And chill for fifteen dollars an hour.

I'm not making enough to get by without living off my mom's money though. I've only got one shift a week unless someone calls in at the moment. Which sucks, but life goes on. I at least have support. And call ins keep happening, so there's that.

It's a shame I've basically ruined my comfort, but I was bored and had a slight mental breakdown. Life is back on track, so we rock on. Moving forward is the best path, lingering about the mental hospital spiral ruining me a bit is just a drag to discuss.

There hasn't been much worth mentioning about the gambling parlor. It's quiet and dull. Not much opportunity to earn tips if you stay within normal levels of politeness and following protocol. It's just a gamble on human kindness with that one. They don't have a reason to stay and chat with the bartender or whatever ya want to call my position as I can't deal you a card or roll dice with ya. All there is are slot machines.

Which is fine, I like it for the most part. It's a good business for myself to hang out at and get paid to babysit gamblers. And make sure ya don't get robbed. Which I will not do anything for besides push the panic button. Legal measures say the most I do is hit the panic button, and/or call the cops and let whatever happen, happen. We just vibe through it. And wonder if I shut down the store or not. Hypothetically it isn't necessary if they accept there's no change and accept exact change and debit cards only.

Just wonder what they will say when I imagine absurd vibes happening. Like someone trying to steal a whole slot machine or the whole safe. My boss and the other people around. Cause I will just obey official laws and do as the cashier code says: call the cops and do nothing else. Besides walk away.

So is there anything cool going on at the gambling parlor? I doubt it. I feel at worst I have to worry about is hackers hacking the slot machines. The safe is slightly a problem. You have to break the lock. And safes typically have a tracker at a business if they pay the bill on their safe. Which is like a VIN number or something, but for safes. Just roll with it, I'm not a safe expert, I could be wrong.

The games are neat. I at best feel like people are building up to a miracle jackpot they feel exists after hanging out too long at gambling parlors, and wondering why it isn't possible based on probabilities. Number of games, number of hours the building is open, and vacant hours. Vacant hours probably cause delay or ruin the pattern if left idle too long.

Statisticians need busy places to keep the vibe of the gamble up. Which for me, doesn't work out well. People don't gamble enough here. It's dead for the most part. At both locations I've worked at. It's not busy enough. Such lack of business, it's sadly appropriate to only have 6 slot machines at each spot. Which is funny in a Satanist numbers way, but otherwise lame for any slot machine parlor.

Anyway, with consistent gambles, they build up to the point they get the jackpot. And there's no advantage to a dead store. Not for the cashier almost always cause people are selfish if you imagine the typical sinner at a gambling parlor. Especially if they lose. The advantage with a busy store is they work the mountain to reach the jackpot as well. Everyone that plays. You just need to observe enough to figure it out.

Which the only answer to that is observing too hard with hacks. Otherwise, you're just gambling as well. Especially when you invent my current store problem I imagine from a server perspective: I'm a man. Women don't tip men that much cause of like, I dunno, social drama or stinginess. Social drama can be possible for like, every man reason ever. Boyfriend gets jealous when it's a man. I might try to date you if I get bored and intrigued enough. Or like, stinginess. Or it could be they don't make enough money to be worth tipping if we invent basic women's politics and admit women get paid less than men. But their tips should be better based on sexism, so there's that.

But that's if that's even real. Which based on observations of their cookie jars on two shifts, it is possible. Compared to my 2 real shifts, where I've made $5 each time. And some change. Which change made it another $5 total, so I've got 10ish bucks in tips so far. While I've seen the jar be better on the women's shifts already. During the day. Which is just absurd to me based on the aesthetic of gambling. I should have the advantage for evening gambling, how do they get good tips during the day, even if they are women? I feel like day gambling is so cringe, you couldn't get good tips during that period. Almost every day of the week, even the weekend. But maybe I don't understand humanity that well.

I haven't had a gambler cry about running out of money yet, praise the gods. The worst I've got is complaints about messing up minor parts of my close at the end of my shift. Which just means try working a tiny bit harder. The close is so easy, it'd be a miracle if they could justify myself not getting unemployment if I get fired for these mistakes. Seriously, one of my mistakes is using the wrong trash bags. It's all just such minor stuff, I've got at least three months of nagging before I even get a threat of a write up. Or being fired for it. So I just relax to an extent on that for now.

I'm ready to work a full 40 hours at this job. But unfortunately I need people to get hired on elsewhere to give up their shifts for myself. And I need an extra job myself probably. At least a daytime part time job. Unless this job bumps me up to full time eventually.

There isn't anything worth being paranoid about besides people's stench. Which paranoia is bored, it claims terrorism to melt the safe and knock me out. Which just invents take smoke breaks regularly as per usual. And let them do it. Just walk off and call the cops. Or at worst, they're a hobo who hasn't showered yet.

More Chapters